Ten Years!

Posted: October 4, 2008 by Kendricke in Guilds
Tags: , ,

On October 4, 1998, I founded the Legion of the White Rose as an online gaming guild for the MARI Telecom turn based strategy game “Archmage: Reincarnation from the Hell”.  It was a free to play Korean based game which picked up a massive (for its time) playerbase that numbered well into the tens of thousands (I believe there were 30,000 of us playing at one point). 

It’s been ten years to the day that I founded my guild.  During that time, we’ve founded 8 different chapters across six different games, maintained a mailing list which held over 500 addressees and had archived over 14,000 emails before we shut it down 3 years ago, and have seen more than 2,000 members fly our flag in various games. 

Currently, we hold two official chapters and a couple of casual chapters across four different games.  Our flagship chapter is our Regal Chapter, currently on the Guk server of Everquest II, while our Imperial Chapter calls the White Tower server of Warhammer Online home. 

With online gaming so relatively young, it’s very, very rare that we see guilds which are even 5 years old.  I can count on my fingers how many guilds I know of that have reached 10 years old or older…across all games.  I’m proud that I can now count one more.

Happy birthday, Legion.  I can’t wait to see what the next 10 years have in store.

Comments
  1. Loralor says:

    Long live the Legion.

    I have been proud to be a part of that history, and would certainly keep doing it without skipping a heartbeat if I could!

  2. Ogrebears says:

    Grats on 10 years!

  3. Pantheros says:

    Wow, ten years passes too fast. I’m definately glad that the Legion is still around, and will be around in the future.

    Happy Birthday Legion!

  4. Yetian says:

    Grats!

    I know the feeling having a good guild gives you our own guild nexus is now active in 3 mmo’s after starting in EQ2. We are only 3 years old though so can only hope to reach your milestone. 🙂

  5. Falimar says:

    Happy Birthday Legion!

  6. crookshankz says:

    That’s really awesome! Congratz and Happy Birthday Legion!

  7. Miellyn says:

    The guild I am in C-L-A-W has been around since 1995 though I have only been in it since the start of EQ2. Congrats on the milestone!

Leave a Reply

