Question of the Week: How important is your guild to you?

Posted: May 12, 2008 by Kendricke in Question of the Week
Tags: , , , ,

Have you ever used any variation on the expression, “If it wasn’t for my guild, I wouldn’t still/even be playing this game”?  Have you ever considered buying a new game just because one of your guildmates or officers mentioned they were going to play it?  Have you ever moved from one game to another, just to keep up with your guildmates?

Over the weekend, I was able to get into a couple of very good conversations with some old friends regarding the influence of guilds.  A few of these friends mentioned that their entire guilds were looking to try out Age of Conan, or that they’re looking to wait for Warhammer Online.  A few even mentioned that even though they weren’t currently interested in their current game, they keep logging in because they feel their guilds “needs them”.

What about you?  How important is your guild to your nightly gameplay?  If your guild switched games, would that affect your decision to keep playing the game you’re in now?  Would you be likely to move with your guild?  Even if you weren’t necessarily interested in the game they were moving to?

Our Question of the Week of May 12, 2008 is this:  In regards to your gameplay choices, how influential IS your guild?

We look forward to hearing your answers.

Comments
  1. Lorechaser says:

    For me, not so much. It used to be the primary motivator. Then I realized that I just wasn’t going to keep up with them – I play multiple games with my wife. My guilds played one, maybe two. I was hardcore, when I played. But I was casual about when. So no matter what, my guild out levelled me. They’d make alts, and we’d run around, but mostly, they were a chat group.

  2. Xeavn says:

    To me, my guild has always been very important. I have far too often started playing a game and joined a guild to find out that the guild is really just a disoraganized group of players, who only occasionally play together. This is usually the opposite of what I am looking for in a guild, so when I do find a really good guild, it is often times worth sticking with them far past when I find the game to be fun. This is often because playing with a fun group of poeple can easily offset minor annoyances about the game for me personally.

    Now to the harder questions, what if my guild switched games? I most likely would follow them to whatever game they choose, even if I wasn’t planning on playing that game to start with. Take Age of Conan for instance. I am not really that interested in it, but if Legion of the Whiterose suddenly decided they were going to be playing it, and a vast majority of the guild jumped from EQ2 to AoC, I would in all likelyhood follow. As much as I enjoy playing EQ2 at the moment, a good portion of that enjoyment is the fun time spent hanging out with guildmates.

    Harder question yet, what if the guild ends up split 50 / 50 with only half of the players moving to a new game? Do I stay or go? I would probably go, but a large part of the decision would be based on which friends were leaving and which ones were staying. Still it always easier to meet and make new friends in a fresh game, than rebuild in an older game.

    The more interesting situation I think though, “Is your connection with your guild strong enough to keep you from leaving to another game, if they aren’t going?” So say I really want to play Warhammer Online when it comes out, but no one from guild is going to play. They are all going to stay and keep playing EQ2. Do I still jump ship to Warhammer or do I stay with the guild in EQ2? This is where it becomes really difficult for me. I don’t want to leave the really good friends I have made, but at the same time I want to try this new awesome game out. This would make for the hardest decision for me.

  3. kanthalos says:

    I think earlier on in my game experience it doesn’t seem to matter so much. As long as I understand what I need to do, I can solo effectively, and enjoy myself in the process, I really won’t start looking for a guild until about level 30ish. By that time there are a few instances that I will probably want to run along with quests that are geared more towards a group. That’s not to say that I wouldn’t be interested in finding a guild before then, but I don’t really find it necessary.

    As for end-game, I think guilds are essential. If you don’t have a solid group of players to run small and/or large group instances and raids with, then I think you are going to have a much tougher time enjoying yourself than you are with a strong guild. With my WoW time at max level (both 60 and 70) I would have quit much sooner than I did had I not been with a strong group of friends. If a guild moved to a different game that I had no interest in playing, I would likely just chat with them from time to time on vent rather than play the game.

Leave a Reply

