Fury Epic?

Posted: January 30, 2008 by Kendricke in Epics, Everquest 2

SOE passed along a bit of concept art to us this week.  Showing a serrated scimitar, the file was named “Wrath of Nature 1280 x 1024.jpg”.  They provided no additional information on the subject, save to say that the epics will be going live next week. 

Now, for those of you old enough to remember, “Wrath of Nature” was the name of the effect on the old druid epic, the Nature Walker‘s Scimitar.  Are we looking at concept art for an updated version of the old druid epic?  You tell me:

Wrath of Nature

Comments
  1. Tipa says:

    Druid epic was my first. It took the whole guild to do it at the time. I loved that epic and still wield it on my druid, even though she is 66 (and parked there for all time probably).

    Looks like it pops open in combat, like the brawler epic we’ve seen.

    I’m most intrigued though by the tradeskill epics.

  2. Xeavn says:

    I will admit that the concept art does look moderately cool. I am not sure it looks as cool as some of the other concept art I have seen, but since it looks to be an upgrade from the old eq druid epic, they probably had less room to mess around with it, if they still wanted there to be a connection. All the concept art is interesting, but I am far more curious about actually picture, and stats.

  3. Taymar says:

    I remember that quest well. I’d not ever done the fight before but we were doing it for a guild member. I let my 6-year-old son stay up so he could see a dragon. Boy, was he disappointed! My guildmates were falling on the ground laughing while I cursed them for not warning me.

  4. Tipa says:

    You want cursing? When epics were first introduced, Faydedar was a rare spawn dragon swimming in Timorous Deep who would start at one end of the ocean and swim to the other, crawl up on a beach and be killed by NPCs.

    Four hours from his spawn, he would suicide. So in those four hours, you had to find out he was up (by sitting above his spawn point constantly refreshing track), try to get your guild together on the spur of a moment to take him down (he had both fear and a punishing fire-based AE), maybe some pickup raiders to bulk it out (this version dropped a combination of Talendor and Gorenaire loot if I remember right) (which made it valuable for guilds with no interest in the epic drop), try to fend off competing druids… all in a very short amount of time. For a druid to get their epic, they had to have someone playing their character and refreshing track 24/7.

    Then do it all over again for the skeleton of Venril Sathir, which spawned 18+ hours after the death of Venril Sathir. This one at least dropped two of the quest items, but was also needed for the ranger epic. Luckily, VS himself was needed for the wizard epic, so he was usually killed pretty quick.

    The old quests were full of waiting for rare contested mobs to spawn (Ragefire, anyone?). I hope they don’t do that for the new epics.

Leave a Reply

