Kunark Dungeon Experience Boosted

Posted: November 21, 2007 by Kendricke in Everquest 2, Rise of Kunark

Per this post on the official forums:

 In making the reality more aligned with the overall goal, Kunark dungeon experience gains have just been boosted on all of the live servers.  They will remain this way throughout the holiday weekend as we see how the new numbers work out. 

-Scott “Gallenite” Hartsman,
Senior Producer, Everquest II

 Well, it seems that we’ve managed to get a bit of what we’ve been asking for.  I’m glad to see that SOE has listened to the players who were requesting this, as it’s been a bit of a blemish on an otherwise great release.

For my part, I intend on running another group or two through Karnor’s and Chardok tonight to see the difference.  Expect a report sometime this weekend.

 

 

Comments
  1. Gdub says:

    I definitely noticed a difference. I was in a group in Karnor’s the other night, and my xp bar was crawling. I think I netted around 2% xp from the couple hours in there, though I finished a couple quests that helped that gain. Tonight I went back into KC, and in the same amount of time earned about 20% xp. Much better.

  2. […] Increase Varified 22 11 2007 As was announced on the Official forums, and around the community, Kunark dungeons got an xp boost today. A couple days ago I got a pickup group in […]

  3. Kendricke says:

    Earlier today, we took a group through Chardok to find that though the overall impact was nice, the experience wasn’t really all that great. We rounded up some named, but the group broke up shortly thereafter so we could go run solo quests again (most of us paired or trioed up to hit the solo quests faster). The entire time we were in there, we were the only group.

    Later, we took a group through Karnor’s, and after running the dungeon for a few hours with a rotating group (and killing all of the named – most several times over), we realized that the experience wasn’t that great. Throughout three hours of grouping in Karnor’s, my guildmates only saw another group just once – and never noticed more than 20 people in the zone at any given time (including the 6 members of my guild who were in there).

    It’s Saturday night. At one point earlier, there were five Kylong Plains and two Fens of Nathsar. At that same time (around 9 PM Eastern), there were a total of 11 players in Karnor’s counting our group. In an hour of grouping through Karnor’s with vitality and a 55% potion I managed to pull in 15% experience. Without a potion, I was pulling in more than that running solo quests in Fens killing Tuskers, Stonebeaks, and Sabretooth cats over and over again.

    Now, I’m not looking for uber loots and experience to rain down upon me when I enter a dungeon. I also realize and appreciate that the experience in the dungeons was boosted for this weekend. However, that said, it’s still simply not enough to encourage real grouping, it would seem. I just don’t see the loot in Karnor’s pulling people back after more players start to hit levels 75-76 or so (when we get to the dungeons that actually have nice loot), and without the experience/quests (sure there’s a few quests in there, but not many) it seems that there’s not a lot of incentive to actually spend too much time in there. In fact, if it wasn’t for the Drolvarg Legend and Lore book and the fact that you get achievement experience for killing the named/placeholders in there, I probably wouldn’t see most of my members going through at all.

    It’s a shame, too, since the overall design of Karnor’s is rather nice. I’d just like to see more than a group or two in there at a given time ever.

    To be fair, we like the experience that comes with the upper level dungeons. The instances and dungeons that seem geared to levels 76 and higher are pretty nice. It’s just the open dungeons from the lower end of Tier 8, like Karnor’s and Chardok, which seem a bit low on the reward to risk ratio.

  4. Illuminator says:

    I made it to level 80, almost entirely on quests, last 20% of 79 from collections, and maybe 30% tops from instance xp. Looking back over this grind, it was so unusual that I’m still giving it time to settle before I can make a real conclusion. But I feel like I’ve been everywhere and seen everything, and know the purpose of every little rock or fluttering page a player will walk past.

  5. Illuminator says:

    AND… what it needs now is a major storyline to tie it all together (otherwise I’m more of a tourist than a participant in RoK). Maybe the raid zones and epic questlines will do that, and maybe they won’t.

Leave a Reply

