Pardon Our Dust.

Posted: August 20, 2007 by Kendricke in Out of Character

Well, I’ve managed to fanagle a few folks I know into coming onboard and helping out.  You should start to see the first new faces on here throughout this week. 

We’ve picked up a few Everquesters, a couple of Warcrafters, at least one disillusioned Vanguarder, and even a Second Lifer – all of whom bring a different perspective to the table. 

In fact, we probably couldn’t be more different.  Ages of our writers range from just in college to those who have kids just about out of college.  Income brackets range from near poverty to well into six figures.  In our ranks, you’ll find a near starving artist and a trial lawyer; a truck driver and a respected physician. 

What we share in common is our passion for MMO gaming.  We play these games to have fun, in whatever form that “fun” takes. 

The site’s going to evolve a bit.  As such, it won’t be long before we shed the whole “Kendricke” name.  The site’s bigger than just me now.  We’re working on the new name right now, but since we’re a new collective, give us a little time to kick the tires and test drive the concept a bit before we drive it off the lot. 

I’m looking forward to the changes.  I hope some of you are, too.

Comments
  1. Xeavn says:

    Really looking foward to the expanded site. I have really enjoyed reading everything you have had to say so far, even if I don’t always agree with your opinion, so having more poeple writting, and more discussions going will just expand the fun.

  2. kendricke says:

    That’s the general thinking. In fact, I’m specifically going out of my way to try to round up people who I (1) find generally well educated and articulate and who (2) have voiced a disagreement with me on a subject more than once.

    Ideally, I’d love this to be a nice little corner of the internet to find reasoned, thought out debates on some of the more interesting topics we like to discuss.

    We’re already toying with the idea of some pro vs. con style debates on various subjects: voicechat vs. textchat; beta NDAs – good or bad?; business vs. design; do MMO’s really need huge subscriber bases?

    In addition, we’re looking to post up guides, interviews, and reviews than the average gaming blog.

    We’ve got some great ideas, and I can’t wait to start seeing some of the new writers posting a bit. I think you’re really going to like them.

  3. AverageJoe says:

    Awesome news Kendricke, looking forward to seeing what you guys have up your sleeves.

  4. KevinC says:

    That’s exciting news Kendricke. I look forward to what you and the team come up with over here.

  5. Jaeluxx (Jaeluxx Alliance) says:

    I think that’s great that you’re expanding your site (although it’s not like I just heard about it, considering you told me at the store today). I assume you’ll be ditching WordPress. I think you should still keep the Kendricke Tracker up and running, as you never know when you’re going to want complete control again. Unlimited Power!

  6. “The site’s going to evolve a bit. As such, it won’t be long before we shed the whole “Kendricke” name. The site’s bigger than just me now.”

    Did you stumble into some FEV? Whoever gets that joke gets a cookie, and my admiration.

    But seriously, sounds great, Kendricke. I’ll keep an eye out for whatever’s coming down the pike. 😉

  7. Dammit, now I have to go play that.

    Are we going to see a Kendricke Collective?

Leave a Reply

